Forever Love


You told me you would always love me
Never leave me
And you haven’t
Yes it’s over 5 years since you died
Nonetheless your love surrounds me
You will always be
“Only a whisper away”
I look at the 45 year old photo
You carrying me on our Wedding Day
I see the love in your eyes
Just as I saw it in the early hours
Of that final morning
The last thing you did was
Squeeze my hand as you looked into my eyes
The love in your eyes was almost palpable
Your love still carries me through the tough days
Sits beside me during times of peaceful reverie
I still talk to you
Yep not even death can shut me up
You don’t answer and yet I’m still comforted
I know only to well people die
I also know love can live forever.

Tricia 7/2/2015

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on February 7, 2015, in Poems. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. This is so beautiful Tricia. A real insight into love and life. I’m glad you can remember this way today and glad that love can live forever. xx

  2. So moving Tricia, and very reassuring somehow. I love you my precious friend ❤️xxx

  3. It is really clear to me that you had an extraordinary marriage, Tricia. I’m quite taken with the way you express the intimacy that deepened over the years in a most untypical way. I really feel the strength of that forever love. You have profoundly touched my heart! ox

Leave a Reply

