Moments of Intimacy


  Moments of Intimacy

In the last couple of years of his life
He developed a beautiful habit
He’d often kiss the top of her head
As he walked behind her chair
She once asked him
“Why don’t you do it every time?”
He smiled and replied
“If I did
It wouldn’t be quite so special”

Tricia 5/2015

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on May 30, 2015, in Poems. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Your words brought to mind one of my favorite songs.

    • Dear Charles,
      Your beautiful song clip brought back precious memories. Back in the days of audio tapes we had a favourite Louis Armstrong one we’d often play in the car. Each time A Kiss to Build a Dream On played, Rod and I would hold hands and sing along.

      Thank you for the gift of your comment. xx

  2. What a wonderful photo, Tricia. I have wondered about you, and have checked back several times to see if you’d posted and I had just missed you. I am so glad to see you here tonight. This is the first time that I recall seeing a photo of your handsome husband. His kind eyes and sweet smile say a lot about him. I have a feeling that he had many tender ways about him…and this story of his coming up behind you with that kiss is really a sweet remembrance. I hope your very helpful carers have been able to continue helping you and that you are getting along well. I have missed you! ox Debra

    • My dear Debra, I’m so sorry for not being in touch. With hindsight I sense I could have worried you. I’ve not been well and seem to have lost my writing mojo. I’ve also not been reading blogs. My unopened emails have almost reached 24000. I’m experiencing something they call profound tiredness, which is apparently not unusual at this stage of my illness. But today is a good day so here I am. 🙂

      Yes my lovely Rod was a very gentle, tender man. Friends and some family have told me they envied our relationship. But then he was kind to everyone he met. He was a very special man.

      Yes, my carers are wonderful. They coax me into the shower on the mornings I feel I just can’t manage and I feel so much better afterwards. They make me laugh, allow me to cry and are so very special.
      Take care my friend.
      Big hugs
      Tricia. xxx

  3. Oh this is lovely Tricia, and so very true. What a beautiful photo of you both.

    I love you dearly my precious friend. Thank you for being part of my life and making it all the richer ❤️ xxx❤️xxx

    • It’s one of my favourite photos, Christine.
      Isn’t he just a honey! 🙂 And the song Charles posted – it just took my breath away.
      I love you too, so very much. Look after yourself my precious friend. ❤ xxx

  4. A wise man. A nicely written vignette Tricia.

  5. lovely to get kissed on the head 😊 good memories too!

    • Thanks for your comment, Gabe. Head kisses are the best. And oh the the lovely memories I have; so many I never know when one is going to pop up and wrap me in its arms. xxx

Leave a Reply

