Games I Play


Among the pleasures
Of living alone
Freedom to be me
In my sanctuary home
One can vent
To their hearts content
No feathers to unruffle
When the venting’s spent
If I get very cross
Do you know what I do
Throw empty plastic bottles
At the glass door – yes it’s true
I always keep a few
On the table by my chair
Ready for chucking when something pokes
My sleeping inner bear
I’ve this special grabber thingy
‘Coz my bending days are done
It enables me to pick things up
When I’ve had my venting fun
It’s empowering for me
As my body slowly wears out
To know I can still cut it
In the game of chuck and shout
Sometimes I’m amused
By the childlike thinks I do
Did I tell you I play basketball
With the rubbish bin – yes it’s true
I miss more than I sink
Tissues and papers litter the floor
But oh what fun it is
When I get to yell “She scores”
My wonderful grabber thingy
Helps me tidy up the mess
But some shapes are tricky
I can get frustrated I confess
That’s when I circle back to venting
I’m well versed in naughty words
Let’s pretend I just exclaim
“You annoying little turds”
Some might call it temper
I call it healthy release
If you’re bothered I know a few members
Of The Australian Venting Police

Tricia 6/2014

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on June 3, 2014, in Poems. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. LOVE this!! Chuckling in California!

  2. Oh this is wonderful, a real fun read Tricia. I’m glad you can vent and have fun too 😉

    • Nothing like responding 6 weeks after the comment! I do hope my mind isn’t following my body down the path of deterioration.
      I’m so pleased you enjoyed it, Peter. xx

      • I miss these too sometimes. Funnily enough, just after you chimed in here, I received a response to another blog comment that was about two months older than yours! Obviously we all do it 😉

  3. Oh my! Did you stab the wicker basket? Well it is better that than some poor fellows face! Good write!

    • I somehow missed responding to this post, Joe. I guess by now you’re accustomed to me being a little slacker. Your comment made me smile. I occasionally threatened my husband’s ‘lower regions’ with my grabber thingy coz I’m known for my naughtiness. 🙂

  4. This is an absolute stunner Tricia! You had me chuckling all the way through, but with an empathetic smile too, at the changing realities that illness brings with it. Your plastic bottle idea is brilliant and I will start saving them because at the moment I throw plates etc that break and then I get mad at the mess especially when I have to wait for someone to call or John to come home to pick them up. This poem is brilliant from beginning to end. Love you and you always score in my book! ❤️ Xx

    • Christine, I don’t know how I missed responding to the comments on this post. Silly me. I’m so pleased you found both resonance and humour in it. Over the last couple of weeks there has been much ‘bottle chucking’. A long story I shall share one day when i’m less emotional.
      Love you too my darling friend. ❤ xx

  5. very funny Tricia 😀 – I have been known to do a few of these things too!

  6. This is fabulous. I can just picture you venting – and I’d be right there with you. Wonderful piece, Tricia, so full of character!

    • Serena, I’ve just realised I’ve missed responding to comments on this post. Thank you for your lovely comment and I apologise for taking so long to respond. Life has been a bit challenging of late and there has been much venting. 🙂

  7. I look forward to it Tricia. Ive just read this again and it hasnt weakened its effect on me. Its both hilarious and very moving at the same time. I call that very skillful writing ❤️ Xx

Leave a Reply

