Simple Pleasure


To dance naked on a summer’s night
Splashing in the sea
My hearts delight
No one taught me this depth of pleasure
‘Tis an instinct
I’ll always treasure
To feel the sea’s soft caress
naked legs
Stomach and breast
I’ve shared this halcyon joy and lust
My love my life
The man I trust
Oh my hearts precious delight
Sharing nights ocean
Loves darkness light
Years have passed since thus I’ve played
But sweetest memories
Have forever stayed

Tricia 6/2014

In response to
http://pookypoetry.wordpress.com/2014/06/01/poetry-prompt-32-simple-pleasures/

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on June 1, 2014, in Poems. Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Simply beautiful Tricia! ❤️ xx

  2. Just beautiful. What naked raw feeling in your words. Love this.

  3. This is beautiful. Nostalgic in some parts but well written.

    • Thank you so much. I’m pleased you enjoyed my words. As I wrote to the previous commenter, I’m often slow to respond to comments, but this is not because I don’t value them. I have health issues that drain my energy, but I do get there eventually.
      Thanks again
      Tricia

  4. I really feel the excitement and fun of this simple pleasure. So happy that your “sweetest memories have forever stayed” 😀

  5. A beautiful piece of work, lovely images and life givingxxx

  6. Sweet memories, Trisha. No matter what happens in our lives, we can pull those memories back and hold them tight. You’ve described a simple pleasure, but when you look back to see what it meant it wasn’t simple at all. Beautiful, my friend. ox

  7. Dear Debra, you are so right. My memories sustain me on the tough days and bring me joy on the good days. It seems the older are get, the closer the past becomes. I’m very happy with this state of affairs. 🙂 xx

  8. Wow. You are amazing. I could have been there. So real .thanks for sharing a very special time. Sooo moved.polly

Leave a Reply

