Mother’s Day Book Spine Poem


Witness to the Fire
Writing from the Heart
You gotta have balls

20140511-125247.jpg

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on May 11, 2014, in Poems. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I love it! Works beautifully together …

  2. This is great Tricia! I keep meaning to have a go at book spine; I have plenty of books!!! . I feel Ive been wasting a litle of my time lately but Im not beating myself up about it! My back pain became much worse a few weeks ago, I may have twisted it and aggravated the ever present pain. Anyway Ruth (daughter) introduced me to candy crush on facebook, something I vowed I wouldnt entertain in any way whatsoever. She said I had to call it disraction therapy from the pain. So I succumbed and my addictive personality has taken over! I would rather be reading but… i think it will wear itself out soon! If it doesnt I will seriously have to apply the 12 step recovery programme!! πŸ˜„πŸ˜„

    • I have to be careful with the book spine poems, Christine. I find them very additive. I played mahjong for a while, sometimes until really late at night, but the arthritis in my hands and shoulders became so painful, I had to stop.
      Bloody body of mine spoils all my fun. πŸ™‚ xx

  3. Brilliant! I have never thought to even look at the spine poems collecting on my bedside table! πŸ™‚ I must! This little collection surely hits a bulls-eye as you contemplate Mother’s Day. You do have balls–so to speak! πŸ™‚ And awfully clever, too! LOL!

    • I warn you, Debra, once you start it can be additive. I often end up with little piles of books all over the house and think – oh my, now I’ve got to put them away. πŸ™‚

  4. Addictive – see I do know how to spell it! πŸ™‚

  5. And mine spoils the fun too, if we lived closer we wouldnt need the distraction of games, we would be too busy chorling!! And eating cake!! ❀️ Xx

Leave a Reply

