3 Haiku


Haiku

Trees glow at sunset
Brittle brown branches
Still waiting for promised rain

Summer’s lease is long
Even the weeds are dying
Thirsting for winter

Memorial climbing rose
Harsh words kill fragrance
Petals and tears fall

Tricia 15/2/2014

For those who have followed my blog, I apologise for disappearing for a couple of months without leaving any message. I’ve been busy coming to terms with the need for extra help as a result of my illness. I now have a number of wonderful carers who help to make my life much easier, but being me I “do not go gentle” into the world of change. Being a stubborn woman, I needed all my energy to work my way to acceptance of this new phase of my life and had nothing left for either writing or reading blogs. I’m sure with the passage of time, poems will begin to emerge as a result of this latest phase of my life.
Take care my blogging friends.
Tricia

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on May 7, 2014, in Poems. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Lovely friend, your presence has been very much missed but I totally understand what you are going through, well almost totally, as much as I can relate to it in my own circumstances.
    I know all about “stubborn”. Sometimes it can work in our favour and flip itself to the other side of the coin, determination, but then it can also work against us somewhat I think when we know change is necessary for the quality of our life energy-wise, and yet our stubborn resistance can slow down the acceptance process. Like Ive said before, we allow change when we are ready and not a minute beore. And that’s ok!! 😊

    Your three haiku are just gorgeous; I particularly like the third one. But love them all. I can picture you receiving inspiration for them by maybe gazing through a window at nature’s comings and goings. 😊

    I hope ‘tiny bear” has settled in his new home 😊

    Love and lots of hugs
    ❤ Xxx

    • Hello my lovely. Your words are a gift to me. That I know you ‘get it’ means so much.

      I love your description of the stubbornness and determination being the flip side of the same coin. And your right, we have to be ready for change, and it is ok.

      Yes I do spend a large part of each day looking out the glass doors watching the trees, sky and birds. You know me so well. 🙂

      Tiny Bear has settled in beautifully. He and Big Ted are great mates. He sends his love to you.
      Take care my dear friend. Much love, Tricia ❤ xx

  2. I’m glad to see you back. Take care my friend.

  3. It’s beyond wonderful to see your beautiful words gracing the page Tricia. As ever, you say so much with so few words. Most especially in the third…

    I love you dearly and am sorry about the harsh realities you have been coming to terms with. If I could ease your burden by carrying some of that weight, I would do so gladly, but sadly this evil struggle is yours. I am, however, always here for you if I can help to relieve the emotional burden, if not the physical one.

    With love always xxx

    • Precious Pooky, your words warm me.

      I’m coming to terms with my changing circumstances and in reality my life is better for it. Oh if only I wasn’t so stubborn, but I don’t think I’m going to change now. 🙂 I really relate to Christine’s comment about stubborn and determination being two sides of one coin.

      I love you too my dear friend, and I’m so grateful you are part of my life.
      Big hugs. xx

  4. Love these haiku, Tricia! They’re beautiful! And so true.

    I’m so please that you’re back writing, but don’t pressure yourself. Go easy and it will come when it’s ready.

    xx

    • Thanks so much, Louise. I actually wrote these haiku back in February and had written nothing since. But last night I read one of Pooky’s prompts and I found my words again. It was pure Freefall, the words just fell onto the page. I didn’t edit, I’ve just posted what came up for me. I feel like I’ve found something special I thought I’d lost. It’s a lovely feeling. xx

  5. You have been missed. I have thought of you often, Tricia, and I’m sorry I didn’t let you know that. I think I simply presumed–and you know how presuming works, usually not well,–that there would be necessary times of withdrawal simply by nature of the intensity of your work. I didn’t think of a physical decline in your strength, and I’m sorry to hear of it. I’m also so glad to hear from you and to know that you have carers I am sure understand how hard it is for you to accept this stage. I hope that new routines and some patience with yourself will open up new streams of creativity. You have a gift, and I know it won’t be silenced for long. And let me tell you that the last stanza of the haiku…powerful! Thanks for letting us know how you are faring. oxo Debra

    • Dear Debra, thanks so much for your caring words. Please don’t be sorry, in truth I was feeling guilty for not sending you an email to let you know I was ok. 🙂

      My carers are a small group of wonderful women. I’m so grateful for all they do for me. In hindsight I’m sorry it took me so long to accept that I needed this help. I kept thinking I would be giving up my independence, but these wonderful women go out of there way to make sure I retain a sense of independence. They never tell me what to do, they ask me what I need from them. That’s so important for me. As I’m slowly getting to know them, they share a little of their stories with me, each carries their own bag of life’s difficulties, as we all do.

      In being stubborn I now realise, I was doing the one thing I never wanted to do, placing a burden on my family. Now it’s lovely, we can just spend time together, enjoying each others company, without them having to wear themselves out doing things for me. They’re still there if I need them but it’s so much better because we all know I have plenty of support and we can get back to having fun together.

      I “do not go gentle” into change. I think I should write a book – Tricia’s Three Stages of Change: Denial, Hissy Fit, Acceptance. 🙂
      Take care my friend
      Hugs
      Tricia xx

Leave a Reply

