Disability (a guest post by journeyintopoetry)


The following is a link to, Disability, a powerful, honest, courageous poem, written by my friend, Christine.
Courage is more than living daily with tenacity in the face of disability. Courage is also being unafraid to speak the truth about the tough times, writing the words some don’t want to hear.
I’m thankful every day for Christine’s presence in my life.

http://journeyintopoetry.wordpress.com/2013/12/11/disability/

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on December 12, 2013, in Poems. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you Tricia. This is so much appreciated. If any words I write reach even one person and that helps them in some way then this is a huge bonus that I am blessed with as a result of being brave enough to start writing.

    Love and hugs
    Xxx

Leave a Reply

