Tacenda


Tacenda

She thought she had swept it all up
and yet
occasionally she stands on slivers;
the broken china of her childhood.

There’s a touch of sepsis
in these older,
tiny fragments.

Tricia 12/2013

(Tacenda:- things not to be mentioned – better left unsaid)

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often donโ€™t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on December 10, 2013, in Poems. Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Tricia, this poem is just like the small bird carrying a huge song in mine; your small poem is carrying a powerful and huge message and I soaked up every single word. Just wonderful.

    Lots of love and hugs
    Xxx

    • Christine, do you sometimes write a poem and wonder where it came from? This is how I feel about Tacenda. I know I shouldn’t be, but I’m so pleased with this one, and I’m still learning what it means. ๐Ÿ™‚
      โค xx

  2. I’m going to read this and read this and read it again because there is so much here in these few words. So, so lovely, Tricia. xo

    • Thanks dear T. It was one if those that wrote itself after I discovered the word. I too keep returning to it. It sounds strange, but now I’ve written the words I need to ‘hear’ what they have to say to me. xxx

  3. Wow….

    It’s an amazing skill to convey so much in so few words. This is just beautiful written Tricia but it strikes deep and hard.

  4. Perfect length. Perfectly written. Perfect.

  5. Two new words for me today! Tricia, each time I read this over, more and more meaning comes out. Brief in words and broad in expression. Extraordinary.
    I am coming to believe that nothing is better left unsaid. However, my experiences are different to many so I reserve that requirement to myself.
    Love and hugs, Peter.

    • Peter, I’m a great believer in speaking out. My childhood was one of secrets and pretence and I can’t be having that any longer. As I grew older my father, my kindred spirit, would introduce me to people as his outspoken daughter. It’s one of my precious, fond memories of him.

  6. Thankyou. So much truth in so few lines.

    • Isn’t it a beautiful word, Nathan? It’s from the latin and pronounced ‘tachenda’. My first response when I read it was ‘bet that’s
      bandied about in The Vatican. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I agree with “T” and want to read this many times. To dwell on it. The impact is very powerful, Tricia. And a word I’ve never once heard–tacenda. I am headed to the dictionary to learn how to use it well. It’s a grand word! ox

    • Debra, it comes from the latin and is pronounced ‘tachenda’. It’s such a wonderful word to speak, but it also brings up so much of my childhood where things were never to be spoken of. xoxo

  8. Yes Tricia, surprisingly I do write the odd poem and wonder where it came from. I say surprisingly because I didn’t ever think this would happen for me; I thought that everything I wrote would have to be thought about long and hard but just sometimes it isn’t so and as if they have almost written themselves. ๐Ÿ˜Š Xxxx

Leave a Reply

