Two Years Today


It’s 2 years today since my friend and fellow Freefall writer, Fran, set my blog up for me. I’ve met so many caring people in the past 2 years. Thank you to each of you for sharing your words with me and for reading and commenting on my words. I’ve learnt a lot and my life is richer because of the friends I’ve made in the blogging community.
Big hugs to you all
Tricia xoxo

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on November 22, 2013, in Poems. Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. And you have, in turn, enriched the lives of others through your words and friendship. I’m so glad I find your words and more glad still that I found you.

    Happy blog birthday x

    • Thank you, Pooky. I too am glad we found each other. In the short time you’ve been blogging, you’ve brought something special, something difficult to define, to our blogging community. Your children’s poems are wonderful, joyful and publishable. Your more serious work, and your questions, stir the silt at the bottom of the ocean of my life and I’m so very grateful. x

  2. Happy blogoversary Tricia!

  3. My life is richer too, Tricia, for having met and grown to love you.

    I can remember “meeting” you! I was over in Ireland visiting family, and I had only had my blog for 3 months. While we we were there I saw in my inbox that you had commented on one of my poems and started to follow me! It was like all my birthdays had come at once! I was following others so they might visit me but you came to me! I think you arrived at my blog after you had commented on a poem of Belfast David’s. it gave me such a warm feeling. And now, 2 years on, I love you dearly, for being who you are, your insight, your positivity, your joy, your sadness and the way you teach me so much in your approach to grieving. I just love you – full stop.

    Lots of love and
    Big hugs
    Xxx

    • My dear Christine, we have shared so much over the last two years. When I began I never dreamt I would forge such a loving friendship with someone on the other side of the world. I love that you were in Ireland when you read my first comment on your amazing blog. Ireland is the home of my ancestors, and my heart. Each time I visited I experienced this sense of coming home.
      Christine your poetry means so much to me, you help me get through the tough days, the times I want to give up when my body refuses to obey me. You’ve taught me so much about accepting my illness, even though I still kick and cry out every step of the way. And I know I’m not alone, you get it and that means everything. And I love the laughter we share. Our bodies may be just south of stuffed, but our minds are sharp and our humour strong.
      I love you so very much my friend.
      Thank you for being the beautiful person you are.
      Hugs
      Tricia ❤

  4. Glad to be a blogging neighbour Tricia. Congratulations on your milestone. X

  5. I hope you have a cake with candles. Best wishes and here’s to many more happy blogging years! Louise x

    • Thank you, Louise. We didn’t have cake and candles but we had a wonderful ‘Freefall diner’ with Barbara, and fellow writers/friends. Wine was drunk, delicious food was shared and Barbara has suggested I send her 30 poems of which she’ll choose 20 for a publication to be shared within the hospital and grief communities I’m involved with. Another freefall friend will help organise the publication. Barbara also suggested we four, very different writers, put an anthology together. The night was a celebration of writing, friendship and pregnant with possibilities. I couldn’t have wished for a more wonderful celebration. Still smiling. 🙂 x

      • Fantastic! What a wonderful way to celebrate your blogoversary! Great news about your poetry — well done — and the anthology sounds like a wonderful idea. Even if you’re very different writers, you’ll find a way to collate the stories so they flow together.

      • Oh and by the way we shared a Freefall dinner – not diner. Just noticed when I was reading your comment. 🙂

  6. I think that must have been a very bold step to have walked out into the blogsophere two years ago, Tricia! I am at about 2-1/2 years, and I can remember not having any idea of how this whole platform worked. I was simply curious. And I wouldn’t have believed that I would grow to care for “strangers,”–people I had never met, but of course, who didn’t remain strangers at all, but became friends. And I count you as one of my most special long-distance friends. I’m so glad we met!

    • I too count you as a dear friend, Debra. I started following your blog because your wonderful ‘tour guides’ of your CA hometown were very well done and filled me with wonderful memories of trips Rod and I had taken. And then there were your delicious recipes, your informative historical blogs, your granchildren, your garden, your pets, all accompanied by beautiful photos. I was also taken by the joy I saw in your face in photos. You are a very insightful woman, and your open minded empathy is something I have great admiration for. Over the last two years I’ve grown to love you. I think anyone who got to know you would love you. You have given me support that is beyond words and I’m so very grateful. We don’t celebrate Thanksgiving in Australia, but I’ve been part of the celebration during holidays in America. This coming Thursday I will give thanks for having you in my life, albeit at a distance.
      Hugs Tricia x

  7. Oh Tricia! “just south of stuffed”! I so needed that wonderful expression this morning! You have given me the laugh I needed because I fell yesterday. I was only sitting on a small stool looking for something in a cupboard but I slipped off it and my bad MS leg twisted itself underneath me.but I managed to crawl over to a chair and pull myself up. I was on my own and felt able to swear freely, which I did! I would have sworn freely anyway!! Its a while since this b******d MS has made me fall but when I do it just seems to reinforce the “trappedness” (made up word I think !) that I feel. Anyway, I can put a bit of weight on it again today, but am feeling massively fed up with this whole thing. Thank you for making me laugh

    Love you lots ❤
    Christine
    Big hugs
    Xxx

Leave a Reply

