Bite Me Alice


I’ve vacillated, to post or not to post. I’ve already denigrated this piece on another thread. Why? There are many sides to RUOK Day. There are various ‘Days’, ‘Ribbons’ and feel good functions, then there is each individuals lived reality. This may not be every day, but it is some people’s ‘sometimes’.

Bite Me Alice

Fallen down the hole again
Exit doors but nary a key
For weeks lost and wandering
Specious cavern of misery
There are big doors and tiny ones
None fit this altered state
Slithering over rocky ground
Battered snail not venomous snake
Jefferson Airplane singing ’bout Alice
‘Feed your head – feed your head’
Shell home holds sickness and sorrow
Wanna be dead – wanna be dead
No mushrooms from the Caterpillar
Not even a puff on his hookah pipe
Sitting there asking esoteric questions
Snipe snipe snipe snipe snipe snipe
Questions without answer
People not always what they seem
Alice and her cohorts can bite me
This is reality not a stream-side dream
The truth isn’t always pretty
Yet a constant push to make it so
Your family’s dead but hey time’s passed
Soon be Christmas Ho Ho Ho
Not all stories have happy endings
Sometimes it’s too hard to be ‘OK’
There’ll be no uplifting finale
Don’t wanna play ‘nice’ today

Tricia 9/2013

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on September 12, 2013, in Poems and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Wow… It’s hard to know how to respond to this in a way that adequately reflects the depth and strength of feeling. It spoke to me but it also made me want to give you a big hug.

    Some things never stop hurting, no matter how much time has passed.

    • Thank you for the comment on this one, Pooky, I realise it’s too hard for most people. I described it as toying with a ‘shove it down your throat’ form of poetry, to a friend in my writers group. 🙂
      They’re not all as dark as this one.

      • DO you know… I don’t always know what to say, but I do think it’s always important to acknowledge when someone’s shared something difficult and show that you care and you actually listened.

        And dark is good – with what you’ve been through I’d be more worried if you were writing about roses and bunnies every day (and besides, I’d be bored to tears! Of the many things one could say about this striking piece of poetry, the one word you could never apply to it is ‘boring’) It’s probably my favourite piece of yours I’ve read so far…

        What’s your favourite thing you’ve written?

      • Your comments have touched me deeply. I did a little rant, in truth it was a rather large rant) with someone the other day about ‘knowing’ when I posted this poem it would sit unacknowledged, abandoned on the page. ‘People want at least a hint of a happy ending’ said I. ‘No one wants to know……..’rant, rant, rant.

      • In which case I’m sorry I proved you wrong. I HATE it when I’m wrong…

      • New comment on your post “Bite Me Alice”
        Author : PookyH
        Comment:
        DO you know… I don’t always know what to say, but I do think it’s always important to acknowledge when someone’s shared something difficult and show that you care and you actually listened.
        And dark is good – with what you’ve been through I’d be more worried if you were writing about roses and bunnies every day (and besides, I’d be bored to tears! Of the many things one could say about this striking piece of poetry, the one word you could never apply to it is ‘boring’) It’s probably my favourite piece of yours I’ve read so far…
        What’s your favourite thing you’ve written?

        POOKY, I somehow managed to loose this comment of yours (luckily I still had the email version) and at the same time post a half written reply. I’m just gifted that way. 🙂 Think I was carried away with ranting. I am pleased you proved me wrong.
        I’ve thought a lot about your question re my favourite piece, I think it’s, My Life In Freefall posted 22/11/2012 (if you go to the side bar and click on November 2012 you’ll find it much quicker than scrolling through everything.
        Again thank you for acknowledging this dark piece.

  2. I’m chuckling a little at the idea of this being a rant! I guess it is, Tricia, but when it’s your poetry and your blog, I guess I think you can express yourself in any way that you want to, and I don’t put it into the “rant” category. I think your statement that it’s some people’s “sometimes” is really true. I haven’t heard of RUOK day. I think that might be annoying to many of us? I’m sorry I have missed this when it first went up…I took a brief blogging break, but there are few people I really wanted to visit, and you were one. I hope you are continuing with your writing group? I’m going to guess there are times when you must stun people into silence! Not because you rant, not because the poems are dark, but because they are so honest. I don’t think “honest” is the typical coin of the realm. Thus, when asked, RUOK? The answer, whether true or not? “Oh, I’m fine.” You stand out…you answer the question! oxo

    • This one did sort of spit off the tips of my fingers, Debra. I was angry frustrated and so very tired. But I’ve always been an honest person who struggles to understand why some people seem to be upset by honesty. My Dad used to introduce me to people as his outspoken daughter. 🙂
      My Freefall writer’s group are meeting here in about 10 days. It’s been a couple of months since we’ve been together and we miss each other. We keep in email or phone contact and I did send them a copy of this one. They are so supportive and encouraging.
      I’ve more comments to answer but it’s almost 11.00pm here and I’ve not been well so I think I’ll head to bed and continue tomorrow.
      Again I thank you for your comments and support
      Little hug
      Tricia

  3. I really enjoyed this Tricia. Perhaps I’ve had similar enough moods to identify with it. I thought no darker than the original Alice story (not the disneyfied version).

Leave a Reply

