Mirroring


Mirroring

‘I love what you say as it mirrors closely my exact sentiments.’ he wrote.
‘p s why does he look so miserable?’ she wrote.
Both these comments are staying with me
Stirring the pot of my subconscious

I don’t know the writer of the first comment
He writes a blog I occasionally follow
I disagreed with something he wrote
He responded politely
Questioning a couple of words I’d used
Sadly
When I returned to the blog
He’d altered his response
Omitting any sense of question
His questioning helped me to understand
My words may have been better received
If I’d put more thought into them

His above comment
Part of a response to another
I sense is staying with me because
I feel the exact opposite
I ‘love what you say as it’
Challenges my preconceptions.

The second comment came from a friend
In response to a photo of one of my many bears
My friend and I discussed our reactions to
The bear with the very sad face
We found common ground
This bear is very special to me because
Sorrow is a normal part of life
Therefore there is a place
For sad faced Teddy Bears
They can be a valuable resource
To see our sorrow reflected
Can be comforting and validating

Mirror
Source of
Multifaceted
Reflections

Tricia 7/2013

20130730-175503.jpg

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on July 30, 2013, in I am what I am, Poems and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Tricia, this is a lovely reflection; its as though you are thinking out loud.

    I saw the comment on the sad face of the bear on fb, and I think your response is so simply profound (oxymoron? – not sure). As I said in one of my poems, ” allow your sorrow its rightful pkace, it is real…” And in times of doubt a glance at the sad face on a bear certainly can help us back to the place where we know how we feel is valid.

    Lots of love and hugs
    Xxx

    • Thanks, Christine. And you’re right, it is a reflection. My writer’s group met here last night and this was one of the pieces we discussed. I think a poem may grow out of the ‘sad faced bear’ section. I think he has more to say on the subject of sorrow.
      Big hugs. xoxo

  2. The use of “sorrow” hit home today, Tricia. I was telling my long-distance aunt about the sadness I’ve been feeling as my dad’s health deteriorates and life is changing. She countered with how she’s been realizing there are times we are “sorrowful.” I thought that was such a good word! I’m not grieving in the classic sense, but I am sorrowful. And yes, that, too, is part of life.

    I enjoy your ability to reflect your thoughts within this beautiful poetic form. Your skill with using just the right words must often rise up to create a little disequilibrium in conversation with others who may not be as careful with expressing themselves clearly. I tend to be a bit literal and find myself sometimes in a misunderstanding because I assume “you say what you mean.” That’s not always the case, I find.

    I’m a little sorry the blogger changed a response. I have found blogging a relatively safe place to explore the way I relate to others and examine the times I don’t feel a connection, sometimes when I wish I could. Good times for introspection!

    Hugs to you today, Tricia. You connect so beautifully. ox

    • Debra, I’m so sorry to read that you dad’s health is not good, that is something to be sorrowful about. I apologise for being so far behind in my responses, but it’s been therapeutic for me to re-read your words today.
      I had a bad blog experience the other day where someone wrote I was hateful and mean spirited because I objected to her using something called scoop.it to transfer random excerpts from my blog to her web page without asking my permission. I won’t go into all the details, but I want you to know your words are a soothing salve.
      Thank you my friend. Love Tricia

      • It’s always so good to hear from you, Tricia, but don’t ever feel the need to apologize when it takes you a while to come around. 🙂 I always hope you’re keeping busy with your own writing. I’m really sorry to think that someone would be so angry, irrationally so, it would seem, when in truth they’ve plagiarized your work! I do think it’s tremendously difficult to monitor unethical web-practices, but I’m glad you discovered the offense!
        And thank you, too, for your kind words regarding my dad’s health. I think it’s hardest for me to see the way he struggles with not being filled with the same vitality he enjoyed just a short time ago. It seems he’s aged very rapidly and just doesn’t have too many days when he has energy. He may be a little depressed, and that’s a first for him. Life is a series of hurdles, and sometimes I think those of us who haven’t had a lot of loss in our lives aren’t as well versed in how to navigate “sadness” and emotions that accompany unwanted change. You’ve really taught me a lot about that, and I really respect you. I hope you are able to get this situation with scoop.it straightened out. Who needs that kind of bother!! oxo Debra

Leave a Reply

