Son and Sky


Son and Sky
 
Laughter back in her life
Interesting projects
Meaning and purpose abound
And yet
Three sleepless nights this week
It would appear her body
Is aware
The black stallion of Mother’s Day
Is galloping toward her 
Hooves pounding the tempo
Requiem for a Dead Child
Fourteen years since
Her so sad son
Laid down the intolerable burden
His life had become
Her childless mother lesions
Ache
With familial longing
As she sits in the dark
Waiting for dawn
Slowly it comes
Swathes of colour
Join together
‘Till the sky is a breathtaking blaze
Her atheistic heart
Longs for a moment
To see her artist son’s hand
Painting this gift of morning skies
But what was
Can never be again
The yin of grief settles
Beside the yang of love
It is enough for today
 
Tricia 5/2013
 

 

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on May 11, 2013, in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. This is such a powerful poem, Tricia. You write so beautifully, and the words come together in a way that really grabs my heart. The Black Stallion of Mother’s Day–wow! I have been so glad to hear that you have felt a return of your overall well-being, and I’m so sorry this thunderbolt has hit you again. I cannot imagine, my friend. But I will be thinking of you. ox

    • Dear Debra,
      Thank you so much. Your words mean a lot to me and I’m sorry to have taken such a long time responding. Life is a series of hills and valleys for me at the moment, and I’m very tired. Nevertheless I’m going to try to nurture my blogging, both the reading and writing.
      Take care
      Hugs Tricia

  2. You’re right! Sometimes it can be heartbreaking not to believe.

  3. Very dificult to comment on this Tricia. What I feel is a longing to sit by your side holding your hand, not in pity, or even sympathy because I feel they arent applicable. I just want to sit and be there with you and be your friend while you work through this return of your grief which you have expressed beautifully. i

    Many hugs and lots of love

    Xxxx

    • Ah my dear Christine,
      Your words are perfect. I too wish we could sit together, maybe in your beautiful garden, savouring the good and acknowledging our struggles.
      Love and hugs
      Tricia

  4. Achingly and breathtakingly beautiful.

Leave a Reply

