The Pangaea Prize


The Pangaea Prize.

thepoet’sbillow is a wordpress site that some of you may be interested in. You have until May 2013 if you want to enter The Pangaea Prize. If you click on the blue highlited title of the competition you’ll find the details.

Work previously published on a blog, or any other medium is ineligible. I’m a bit sad about this because I would have liked to enter some of my health related poems. Guess I’ll just have to ‘push the boat out’ a bit further.

They actually ‘liked’ my latest poem Then and Now. For some reason I’m getting some new traffic stopping by my site. I’m not complaining, just intrigued.

As one of my mentors Bob Neimeyer says “Good words to you.”

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on January 19, 2013, in I am what I am and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

    • You should think about it Joe, just remember you can’t post it on your blog if you want to enter it. That seems to be the same for most competitions these days.
      I entered a competition the other day, first one for years coz the ‘poetry police’ often piss me off. Too often I feel form is valued over content.
      End of rant. Going now…

  1. The reason I rarely enter competitions Tricia is that I am reluctant to hide away a poem.

    I put them in my blog because I think I have something to say.
    Or perhaps because patience is not one of my virtues!! 🙂

    Take care
    David

    • David thank you for your comment. It caused me to reflect on why I stopped entering competitions. I only entered the one recently because it was part of a friends book launch, and as I was unable to attend I wanted to show my support.
      Upon reflection I’ll not get back on the competition merry-go-round.
      Thanks David, you are a gem.
      Tricia

Leave a Reply

