Then and Now


Then and Now
Twas the night before Christmas
And all through the house
Memories danced
Slow waltz by Strauss
 
Parents quietly giggling
Frantic wrapping of gifts
Kissing and cuddling
Christmas Eve tryst
 
At a tinsel covered tree
Sat a 3 year old boy
Gazing not touching
Blue eyes sparkling with joy
 
His mother and father
Watched in delight
Worth every moment
Of their sleepless night
 
Awed by the gifts
Crowded under the tree
When the wrapping came off
Awe turned to glee
 
As the years rolled by
It became tradition to read
Twas The Night Before Christmas
Adult child – loving screed
 
Twas the night before Christmas
And all through the house
Memories were flooding
Absent child absent spouse
 
Tricia 12/2012

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on January 18, 2013, in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Very poignant.

    You are close to having a Christmas book of your own to publish for next Xmas!

    Nathan

    • Hiya Nathan,
      I’m seriously considering putting a compilation of my work into a book. Some of my blogger friends have done this and it’s wonderful. I have one book from England, one wending its way to me from Ireland, and another from Hawaii that I intend to order when I figure out how.
      There’s something special about holding the words in my hands, turning pages, using a post-it sticker to mark my favourites.
      Thanks as always for your valued feedback.
      Tricia

  2. How things change. Veru well written Tricia.

    • Joe a favourite author, Joan Didion, writes in her book The Year of Magical Thinking, “Life Changes fast. Life Changes in the instant. You sit down to dinner and life as you know it ends.”
      This book is covers the year surrounding the sudden death of her husband. A few months after she completed the book her daughter, her only child, also died. Joan and I have much in common.
      Thanks for your encouraging words.
      Tricia

  3. Such a beautiful melancholy reflection Tricia. So poignant and full of love.

    Someone once quoted to me when my life had changed dramatically, “The only constant in life is change”. And its true. I am pleased for you that you have found such a wonderfully creative outlet to express your feelings upon those changes.

    Much love and hugs to you

    Christine xxxx

    • Hello my dear Christine,
      The thing I’m most grateful for is the love I have known and still know. No matter what life has in store for me, nothing can take that love from me. While I live, the love lives with me. And then there’s the love of extended family and friends. I live a life well loved and there’s much to be said for that.
      In my above reply to Joetwo I shared Joan Didions words on change. I’m sure they’ll resonate with you.
      Take care my friend
      Much love
      Tricia

Leave a Reply

