Purple Ink


Purple Ink
 
There are days
When a keyboard won’t cut it
I need the tactile comfort
Of pen and paper
As I write the stitches
To close life’s wounds
 
And then there are my purple ink days
Letters that can never be answered
Precious intimacies never to be shared
Private pain
Previous joy
These are the times
 
When only purple ink will do
 
Tricia 12/12

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on December 20, 2012, in Poems and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Oh Tricia! You just have such a special talent in your writing.

    I truly love this poem and can feel every word written in purple.

    Love and warm hugs

    Christine xx

  2. Just exactly so!!!

    You leave me smiling again 🙂

    David

  3. “Write the stitches to close life’s wounds…” That is just perfect, Tricia. You are really a gifted writer. You definitely convey sadness and loss with words that stick with me. I hope you won’t be alone on Christmas? Will you be with your brother and family? Or is it even harder being with others? I do hope the day will not be too hard.. oxo

    • Hello Debra,
      I have lots of invitations but choose to spend Christmas alone. It’s the best way for me to get through the day.
      My sister has stocked my fridge with smoked salmon, goats cheese, avocado, stawberries and champagne, and I have my Big Ted to keep me company.
      Have a wonderful day with your family
      love
      Tricia

Leave a Reply

