Poem in F minor


Poem in F minor
 
Although the music is still
Melodic
The rhythm has changed 
Semitoneand circumstance
Diminished
No longer a fully orchestrated
Symphony
 
She’d relished her polonaise days
Now it was mostly sonatas
Old piano
Out of tune
Fingers less nimble 
Eyesight fading
Deceptive cadence and yet
 
She sits daily at the keyboard 
Striving for grazioso
Acknowledging
From now on
Life’s composition
Needs be 
Adagio
 
Tricia 10/2012
 
 
A musical glossary follows for those who require it. I have placed in brackets two pieces of music I would like you to listen to if you feel so inclined. You can find them easily on Youtube. I prefer to listen to the Horowitz version of both.

GLOSSARY

Adagio: To be played slowly

Deceptive cadence: A chord progression that seems to lead to resolving itself, but does not.

Diminished: To make appear smaller or less.

Grazioso: To play gracefully.

Polonaise: Polish folk dance (My favourite classical piece is Chopin’s Polonaise in A Flat Op 53)

Semitone: The smallest musical interval – distance between 2 notes that are next to one another.

Sonata: A piano sonata is a sonata written for solo piano (My favourite sonata is Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata)

Hope this gives you a greater understanding of the poem.

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on October 24, 2012, in Poems and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Melodically lovely, but structurally – I don’t understand the musical terms. However, is metaphor, is good

    • I was going to add a musical glossary but felt people could google the words if they were interested. I could have used different words but I love the language of music. I’ll add the glossary as a comment.

  2. Tricia, this is beautiful and so well thought out and crafted,.

    The minor key always has a sense of sadness for me.

    But I am sure grazioso can be combined with adagio successfully for her :):)

    Much love and gphugs

    Christine xxxxxx

    • Dear Christine,
      This was one of those poems that just wrote itself. I sat here when I’d finished and wondered where the words had come from. As I wrote to Joe, I love the language of music.
      Love and hugs to you too
      Tricia xoxo

  3. I also love the language of music, Tricia. I think this piece really moves beautifully with the use of musical terms, and develops into a very sensitive portrait. I love both pieces of recommended music, too. The Sonata I’ve played many times, and the Polonaise, I haven’t played in years, and even then, not well, but I love it, too! You’ve shared a different dimension of your personality and feelings with this one, Tricia. I really enjoyed it. I hope you are continuing to feel better? I think I really agree with “Life’s composition needs to be Adagio.” There is wisdom in that! oxo Debra

    • Hello Debra,
      I never quite mastered that Chopin Polonaise. I still remember my brother slamming his bedroom door in frustration as he tried to study while I slogged away at the old Chopin.

      I was actually very angry when I started to write this poem. I’d just found out I have cataracts and am not yet ready to deal with them. That’s the thing I love most about both music and poetry, they can move me to a place of peace. My issues are still there but I have music and poetry to keep me company while I work through them.

      Take care
      Tricia xoxo

  4. I came away from this with a smile on my face Tricia.

    Thank you for that

    David

Leave a Reply

