Riding Rough Roads


Anger has motivated me to post on my blog again. I wrote the following poem in response to a photo of an obese woman and her child on a bike, posted on AllPoetry’s website. The cruelty of the responses saddened me deeply. Yes all is grist to the writer’s mill but, a shabby limerick is not art.
 
Riding Rough Roads

A mother sits by her daughter’s bed
Holding her hand, silently weeping
She decides to tell her a story
Even though the child is sleeping

Someone took our picture today
I suspect they think it’s funny
To see a little girl all squished up
By the large bottom of her mummy
Then they posted it on the internet
For all the world to see
Never stopping for a moment to think
How hurtful their actions could be
Mummy knows there’s not much room for you
When we go riding on the bike
But I promise you child it won’t always be so
And mummy will try to live with the spite
When cruelty wounds me to my core
I’ll sit with you while you sleep
Then tomorrow I’ll get back on our bike
They will never see me weep

The mother dries her tears
Kisses her much loved child’s head
With renewed strength and courage
She takes herself to bed

 

Tricia 7/2012

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on July 9, 2012, in Poems and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Good to have you back Tricia. I hope everything is ok with you. Very good piece also.

  2. Well said – people can be horrible and insensitive at times.
    Glad to see you back in the blogosphere. x

    • Thanks for your comments.
      Sorry to have taken so long to reply but my health is playing silly buggers with me at present. Not sure if the expression “silly buggers” is an Aussie one. I know when I would tease him my dad used to often say “Don’t you play silly buggers with me.”.
      Take care
      Tricia

  3. Moi of the green room, South Yarra

    Go tell it like it is – always your truth!

Leave a Reply

