Mount Superior


Mount Superior
 
I find myself 
Wondering
How rarefied the air
Must be 
On the moral 
High ground
 
Is it altitude
Sickness
That causes 
Blindness
Inability to see 
The possibility of pain 
 
Caused
By the stones of
Judgement
Rained down on those
Who don’t look
Like you
 
Who don’t think
As you do
Who don’t believe
As you do
Who don’t live
As you do
 
Many who climb this mountain
In order to comment on the
Ubiquitous cyber world of news and current affairs
Lighten their load
By leaving their true identity
At base camp
 
Some obviously have
Multiple degrees
They are psychologist
Health expert
Philosopher
Law maker….
 
This plethora of degrees
Equips them
To share their hard won
Expertise
Under intellectually inventive
Pseudonyms
 
During their gruelling
Years of training
Many miss the odd subject
Compassion
Humility
Empathy
 
Strangely
Moral principles 
Appear to have
No place on
The moral high-ground 
Of Mount Superior
 
Tricia 30/4/12
 
(Of late I’ve found myself frustrated by the rush to judgement of many media commenters. This is my response.) 

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on May 2, 2012, in Poems and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. So very true Tricia… This made me smile in one of my insomniac moments. I particularly like the mountain image… One day they may experience a rockfall if they’re not careful… 😉

    • Sorry I’ve taken so long to reply but have been in hospital. Am beginning to feel better again. Loved your rockfall comment and hope the insomnia has left the building.
      Tricia

  2. This is so strong, Tricia. So right on! I particularly like the list of “subjects” missed in the training: compassion, humility and empathy! There sure are a lot of “experts” out there and they do love to hear themselves expound! I get frustrated, too! I love your response! What a talent for calling it like it is!! Debra

    • Hello Debra,
      Thanks for your comments, and my apologies for not replying sooner. I’ve been in hospital and since coming home have had very low energy levels. I haven’t written a word in weeks but am hoping that will change soon.
      Debra I have over 600 unopened emails in my inbox and don’t know if I will get to them all. My nephew suggests I just let them go and begin again when I’m ready. I’m sure there are some from you in there and hope you understand my lack of response.
      I have to have some more tests this week but after that hope to saddle up the writing horse again.
      Bye for now
      Tricia

  3. This piece is great – I love the whole thing, but this stanza is definitely my favorite!

    Many who climb this mountain/In order to comment on the/Ubiquitous cyber world of news and current affairs/Lighten their load/By leaving their true identity/At base camp.

    So much truth!

    • Thanks for your comments. My apologies for taking so long to respond but I’ve been unwell. I’m pleased you liked the piece. It was a healthy bit of venting for me to write.
      Tricia

  4. These words ring so true. Enjoyed them immensely.

    • Eric my apologies for not replying sooner but I’ve been in hospital. I also have over 600 unopened emails in my inbox so I will have missed some of your postings. Because there are so many emails and my energy is still limited I may not get to read them, but I feel sure you will understand.
      Thanks for your comments
      Regards
      Tricia

  5. Nice bit of work here. As I always say “I may be in the gutter, but I’m not going to fall and break my neck.”

    • Joe I’m sorry to have taken so long to reply but have been in hospital.
      It’s so good to have you back in the blogosphere, but because of my illness I have over 600 unopened emails and I know some are from you. I may not get to all the emails because the number just overwhelms me to be honest. As my health improves I’ll visit your website and try to catch up that way because I do so enjoy your work.
      I’ve not written a word in weeks but am going to work on that. I’m having a couple more medical tests next week and when they’re done with I intend to saddle up the writing horse once more.
      Bye for now
      Tricia

      • Hi Tricia,
        I hope you are going to get well and back among us soon. But take as long as you need. The best thing about the internets is that it isn’t going anywhere, no matter how much you sometimes want it to!
        I look forward to what your new experiences bring to your writing and poetry.
        See you next week
        Joe

Leave a Reply

