Luscious Life


Luscious Life
 
Rain falling
Nature calling
Grass succulently sweet
Caressing weary aching feet
Sagging breasts once soft white petals
Glistening where rain drops settle
Neither Botox nor fancy creams
Can fulfil ethereal dreams
Open heart
Weeping sky
Dance naked
Learn to fly

Tricia 22/11/09
 

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on February 13, 2012, in Poems and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Joie de vivre!!! Love it 🙂

  2. I had such a big smile on my face after reading this.

    It will keep me smiling throughout the day.

    David

  3. Ah, Tricia, This is luscious! It’s lovely to see glimpses of sunlight peeking through the clouds, and that’s what I felt reading this special poem. You last mentioned Redondo Beach memories, and I will plan to take pictures for you sometime soon. My daughter lives nearby. And I would so love to have lunch together! You never know! Bless you today! And I loved this poem, but then, so far I have loved each one! Debra

    • Thanks for this Debra. I must try to figure out how to post some of my photos taken during one of our stays at Ragged Point. In Australia we have a magnificent panoramic drive called The Great Ocean Road, in Victoria. The Pacific Coast Highway through Big Sur is even more magnificent. On our last trip together we watched the mist roll in from the ocean, it was breathtaking.
      Take care
      Tricia

  4. I love this Tricia!

    I feel just like you do about rain – “achingly beautiful” describes it so well.

    It’s wonderful to be able, at last, to “dance naked” and “learn to fly” after all my years of fussing vanity. I still take great care in my appearance but in a much more grown up accepting way.

    It’s so good to be able to learn to love that core of ourselves and let the outer shell take care of itself!! 🙂

    Hugs

    Christine xx

  5. Thank you, Tricia, for visiting my blog – it’s nice to meet you and to discover YOUR writing! I’m subscribing and looking forward to reading more. 🙂

    This is a joyful, playful poem! (Synchronicity – I’ve posted a couple of poems lately that include dancing naked outside at night. It’s been decades since actually doing so though!)

    • Betty one of the things I love about the blogosphere is the sense of connection, albeit in the virtual world, that comes from the words of others. I experienced that sense when I read both your comments on Christine’s blog, and your poetry.

      Looking forward to sharing words with you
      Tricia

Leave a Reply

