The Power of Poetry


The Power of Poetry
 
Wordsworth wrote of many things
Yet Daffodils is the verse that rings
The bells of kindred spirit-ship
Stiches the wound bereavement ripped
I know this man I’ve never met
Centuries apart and yet
His words “the bliss of solitude;”
Touch my deepest darkest mood
Lost lives live – hope is formed
I still have those whose deaths I’ve mourned
His “inward eye” sets sorrow free
Reverie brings them back to me
Two daffodils bloomed in the meadow of life
Mother to one to the other wife
 
Tricia 19/1/2012
 

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on January 19, 2012, in Poems and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. This is a beautiful and powerful poem, one that Wordsworth himself would have admired a great deal I’m sure. It is fluid like life and bittersweet as in death. Wonderful writing, thank you for posting.

    • Thank you for your generous comments. I have read Daffodils numerous times, but it was after reading it on your blog this morning that this poem came to me in a matter of moments. So you in fact, had a hand in the creation od this verse.

  2. A wonderful tribute to the old wordsmith, Yet very much your own work.

  3. Hello, Tricia

    I am nominating you for the Versatile Blogger Award.
    Please follow my link: http://aliteraryartistsmusic.wordpress.com/
    Congratulations 🙂

  4. Tricia, this poem brought tears to my eyes. I have read it several times now, and each time i am touched in some heart-felt way. Thank you for sharing.

  5. A gentle and yet powerful poem which moved me deeply.

    And I really love the line –
    “The bells of kindred spirit-ship”

    I went to visit Dove Cottage (Wordsworth’s home) a few years ago. I was surprised how moved I was by the experience

    David

  6. Tricia,

    This is beautiful.

    I am so going to enjoy your blog, I just “know” it.

    Love

    Christine x

  7. Why not?! I really like one or two of mine too!! LOL 🙂

    Hugs xx

  8. Good Lord, Tricia, what a magnificent poem! I love the discussion about Wordsworth and how that relates to who you are.

    • Thomas thank you so much for your warm words. As I replied to Christine, this is a poem I am really pleased with myself. For me the wonder of poetry and classic literature is that even though we live centuries apart we share similar feelings.

Leave a Reply

