August Eyes


August is a time of reflection and mixed feelings for me. You see my son ended his life on August 23rd, 1999, and here in Australia August aches with the knowledge that winter will soon be ending. Winter is my favourite time of the year, and yet spring is full of new beginnings. And so in August I see the world through different eyes. I was going to wait until next August to post this, but with Christmas on the doorstep I find I’m filled with August contemplations.

 
August Eyes
 
see with a darkly depth
wispy visions of might have beens
illuminating empty spaces
 
find solace
in crimson purple skies
lighting the coming of night
 
reflect white water
rolling onto the sand
kissing curled toes with icy foam
 
glisten with joyful rememberings
sun shining on golden hair
the scent of a hug
 
sparkle in the strengthening sunlight
that warms my face
with September expectations
 
Tricia Bertram   2008
 

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on December 22, 2011, in Poems and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Life always goes on. But are you always ready to go along with it?

  2. Not always joe, but most of the time. (great question)

  3. Oh, I do like this.

    Its underlying optimism cheers me

    I will subscribe to your blog methinks
    And add you to my Blogroll too

    David

  4. I like this a lot. But having spent my entire life in the northern hemisphere, I have to mentally translate September to April to fully appreciate it. Just another example of how our location influences how we see the world and the associations our visions make with words. Beautiful poem.

  5. I’m like Jo S Wun : I live in the northern hemisphere. I didn’t notice at first that this would be a winter poem. It is beautifully poignant, and the lines lead up with sure steps to those ‘September expectations’ – which must have been sharply wanted after the tragedy of August 1999.
    I shall read your other poems with interest.

  6. John this poem is special to me for many reasons. As I read it today I’m metaphorically sitting on the sand with him, watching the sun sparkle on his red/gold hair. He too was a poet. Tomorrow, Christmas day downunder, I will post the poem he wrote after the death of his grandfather, a man he adored and whose death devastated him.

  7. Going on after someone you love deeply is not easy, but I celebrate this poem and the poet who wrote it and the moments that

    glisten with joyful rememberings.

  8. Thank you so much Thomas. I’m so pleased you commented because now I am able to explore the wonderful words of your wife and yourself.

Leave a Reply

