A Terrible Truth


Yesterday the editor of a newspaper blog refused to publish my comments on abuse. At the end of the day my poem Silent Scream was published. It was a beginning, but I still feel an overwhelming need to speak on behalf of the 35 young men who died tragically. 
 
The following poem is not yet complete, but on this issue I experience a sense of urgency. A Terrible Truth will continue with time and contemplation.
 
A Terrible Truth
 
Thirty five young men ended their lives
Victims of abuse
Hierarchy buried its head in the sand
Haughtily obtuse
 
Living in a democracy
Unable to voice my condemnation
Media moderators of free speech
Quote ‘fear of defamation’
 
Tricia 15/12/11
 

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on December 15, 2011, in Poems and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Your words echo true on our side of the world as well. Thank you for posting

  2. Thanks for taking the time to comment Joe. It’s a subject I feel very strongly about.

  3. Good on you, Tricia. I love the last lines of this poem particularly.

  4. Fran this was just a quick Freefall piece. Woke from a nap and just had to get it down on paper. It’s one I intend to expand.

  5. Tricia, I hope that it is OK if I offer you some constructive criticism on this one.

    To me it reads more as a “formal statement of belief/opinion” (which of course I agree with) rather than something that reflects your life experience.

    The contrast is with “Silent Scream” which, because it does reflect your experiences, is far more moving and a far better poem.

    Can you see a way to reword “A Terrible Truth” to take this into account?

    Simon (aka Dr Kiwi)

  6. Thanks Doc for this constructive criticism. I appreciate it, and you are spot on in your assesment.
     If you read the intro you will see this piece is not yet finished. I was pissed off, not with Dick but with his editor, for twice rejecting my comments on this weeks topic. Being the determined woman I am, I decided I would be heard, if not on the G G blog then on my own, even if the poem is as yet incomplete. I’ll let you know when it’s finished, but it could take a while as this issue is huge for me, and I must find some distance within myself to do it justice.
    Please stop by again as I value your feedback.

  7. A voice like yours , crying out for justice in the wilderness of desire will definitely be heard one way or another. I just love your persistance and strength that have always been there. You are making a difference . Bravo bravo. Your vioce of experience enables you to tell your truth.

  8. Long John Silver

    On the topic of free speech moderators, I have managed to have 8 posts rejected since the new GG software started (most of them were rejected today), so I’m giving up for the rest of the year. No explanation is given for them not being published, they are just listed as the fish Godless Gross rejects. I figure that whoever is filling in while Dick takes his Xmas break applies the rules more stringently than him. The rules say “Any comments which are off-topic, abusive, potentially defamatory or in any way questionable will not be published.” but really, if I can’t be off-topic, abusive and questionable then it’s hardly worth bothering! I’ll try re-posting them next year, hoping that Dick will turn a blind eye to my rantings (I wouldn’t be abusive if people stopped posting stupid things). All the best for 2012.

    • All the best for 2012 to you too Pirate. I also am backing off until Dick returns. If they are not careful they will destroy their most popular blog, “off topic” is often the best part of the blog. I loathe bloody bureaucracy. I look forward to more piratical ranting in 2012.

Leave a Reply

