Is there a Heaven?


Is there a Heaven?

 
The question was posed on a newspaper blog,
over 500 people commented –
some nicely,
some nastily,
some hilariously,
some seriously.
many commented on the comments of others,
the comments are sometimes savage.
Life on the blogosphere is not for the faint hearted.
 
For me heaven and hell
are what we experience on earth.
and yet –
I find resonance in Shakespeare’s words
‘There are more things in heaven and earth Horatio, than are dreamt of in your philosophy’.
 
I see heaven in the way
dawn breaks differently each day,
rich reds, orange streaks,
grey tinged with purple;
look away for a moment
and you can miss something spectacular.
 
Some days there is just dark cloud cover,
but
is it all still happening
beneath the veil of cloud?
Are the cloud filled mornings
the ones
when the most majestic of sunrises
take place,
the ones too beautiful for us to comprehend?
 
I also see Heaven
in the smiling face of an innocent babe,
in the falling petal of a burnished rose,
in the thunderous roar of an angry ocean
as it breaks onto the sand,
in the people who put money into the tins of beggars
without judgment,
in a blood red sun
sinking into sapphire blue water,
in a mother kissing away the pain
of her child’s fall,
in the arms of my family and friends,
holding me
in love and support.
 
Is there a Hell?
Not today
 
Tricia  2011
 

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on December 4, 2011, in Poems. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I like this, Tricia. It conjures up beautiful pictures in my imagination. After reading it, the line “Playing with children, acting as stars, guiding your vision to heaven, and heaven is in your mind,” came to mind, from the song by Traffic, way back in the psychedelic sixties 🙂

    ps. I sent you a private message on Facebook.

  2. Thanks so much Jess, and thanks for the link to Heaven Is In Your Mind. Really enjoyed the trip down memory lane.

Leave a Reply

