ONE YEAR ON


ONE YEAR ON
 
death is a howling, icy wind
indiscriminately snapping saplings
felling mighty gum trees
freezing buds before they can bloom
 
grief isn’t all stoicism
and
‘they’ve gone to a better place’
‘let them go’
‘only the good die young’
‘they’re with you in spirit’
‘move on with your life’
 
grief is a wounded puppy
whimpering in the night
a searing blow torch
burning
branding
 
grief is the glacial wind of death
keening
slicing through outer layers
freezing soft flesh in mid stride
 
grief is the breath taking memory
of sparkling eyes
a gentle smile
the scent of a hug
 
grief is a question
will spring come again?
 
Tricia 13/07/2010

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on December 2, 2011, in Poems. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

