Triptych


Three panels form one painting

Their compilation draws the eye

But as you move closer

Individuality captures you

There is choreography in the viewing of a triptych

Stepping back to view the whole

Slow movement forward

Glide, turn, glide

Step back again

Each panel a beautiful thing

Together they are splendid

 

A thief comes in the night

The triptych becomes a diptych

Still a thing of beauty

But without that special radiance

And there’s the mark on the blue wall

An absence of fading

 

The wall is repainted

The choreography changes

Less steps

In the dance of the diptych

 

The thief returns

Takes a second panel

Leaving the final painting

To stand alone

You know of the thief

His name is Death

 

Tricia 12/09

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on November 22, 2011, in Poems. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

