Ode To An iPad


Ode To An iPad

My iPad and me we’re such great mates
But her life it would appear
Is in the hands of fate
One by one each function disappears
I’m trying to remain calm
Please Ignore the steam from my ears
When 500 photos ‘went west’ I got shitty
Hissy fits, swearing,
A sever bout of self pity
The iPad help line thinks she can be saved
I’m not so sure
Although I’m trying to be brave
When I measure my life’s losses a dying iPad’s quite small
But she’s not just an iPad
She’s my link to you all
I can’t get around much yet I travel the globe
Sharing life, love and laughter
Plus the occasional ode
When my family have time we’ll visit Apple’s shop
Where hopefully they’ll retrieve
Photos, poetry, The Lot
Once bitten twice shy the old saying goes
As well as having her repaired
I’ll buy a new one coz who knows
It may sound extravagant but loss mangles trust
And yes it just an iPad
But I’ll do what I must
Because for me it’s more than a technological aid
It’s my link to the world
When I’m sad or afraid
Or when I’m happy and bubbling longing to share
Something special with someone
To show them I care
I’ll now catch up on comments in case WordPress dies too
If it does please understand
I did the best I could do
I have an iPhone but with cataracts it’s difficult to see
Words appear to be written
With the stinger quill of a bee
And yes I know this doesn’t fit the poetic criteria for an ode
But maybe if you squint and hold your mouth right
It’ll fit the irregular ode mode

Tricia 22/1/2014

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on January 22, 2014, in Poems. Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. I love it Tricia :-) An ode is an ode is an ode and I wish your Ipad a speedy recovery. Failing that I wish for you a new one!

    • Thanks so much, Rashida. I’ve been quite devastated by the whole thing. I’ve lost poems, photos and can’t access most of my apps. So far WordPress is still working. Luckily my iPhone is ok.

      Because of my chronic illness and cataracts, my iPad is one of my main means of communication. But it was so good for me to be able to write this. It’s helped me to find a little perspective while still respecting the important role my iPad plays in my life. I’ve other friends with a chronic illness and we value our iPads on a different level to many others.

      My iPad and I thank you for your good wishes. xx

  2. Great piece. Have faith in a higher power, there may be a resurrection!

    Praise the Apple, hallowed be it’s name.

  3. Oh goodness, you have my sympathies–I do love the last 2 lines especially, as so much of life requires squinting and holding our mouths just right. I don’t have any “i” technology, just my PC–but for me, it’s the link to an accepting family of friends and appreciative poets.

    • Lovely to hear from you again, Mirada. I must admit I’m rather lost without it. I must wait until someone has time to take me to the Apple store to get it fixed/replaced. Working on a phone, with cataracts, is a wee challenge. :)

      • I have the beginnings of cataracts too–“a wee challenge” is a delightful understatement! I try not to be afraid of the condition worsening and just trust God, but it’s an annoyance for sure.

  4. Oh no! I hope you get it fixed.

    • Hi Joe. I’m still struggling with the iPhone and getting very frustrated but I can’t manage a shopping centre on my own so I must try to be patient until someone has time to take me. I’ve decided I’m getting a new one as well as having this one fixed so I don’t have this problem again. :)

  5. Oh Tricia, excuse me for laughing at your misfortune, but your ode did tickle my fancy. I wish you good data recovery and gremlins begone!
    The new iPad Air that was a present to me last week is much lighter and nimble than my old first generation model.

    • Peter, I did love your ‘good data recovery’ wish. You made me chuckle. My first attempt at a nonet seems to have disappeared into the ether. I don’t think it was anything earth shatteringly wonderful, (not like a lost polonaise by Chopin or anything) I shall have to make a second attempt. :)
      My iPad is the iPad 2 version, I shall look at what’s on offer when I eventually get to the store.
      Take care my blogging friend
      Tricia xx

  6. Oh Tricia! What a star you are! But I cant ignore that steam from your ears! Ive just hosed you down cos it looks more like smoke to me!!!!! :)

    My last iPad did the same as yours. And it started typing without my help! All gobbldy-gook I think, unless it was aliens informing me how to save the planet in five easy steps. Oh well. :)

    Love you to bits <3 xx

  7. Yes but Im not sure if Ruth (daughter) saved it on cloud thingy. Xxx

  8. It’s a very fine ode, Tricia! How frustrating! Our iPads are our friends, for sure. How dare yours turn on you. I do hope that your photos and poetry will be retrieved. I have great faith in the guys at the Genius Bar! :-) My fingers are crossed!

    • Debra, I don’t ‘do’ frustration well, I can be very childlike with matters technological. Hissy fits are a specialty of mine. :)
      My iPad is not just my friend, it’s my constant companion. Even though it’s not working I keep it beside me on my walker and every now and then I tell it ‘I’m not very happy with you, you lazy monkey. The holidays are over and it’s time you got back to work’, but it refuses to listen.

  9. I’d missed this before… how awful for you…. I can empathise to certain degree (Tom jokes that my iphone has an ‘ibreathe’ app and that if I lose it or break it I’m toast) I can imagine the rest. Aside from the negatives though, it does make you stop and appreciate quite how wonderful an aide to our daily lives these devices are. I honestly think mine saved me from post natal / post adoption depression as you don’t need to feel alone when you can connect with like-minded folk.

    This is so different from anything else of yours that I’ve read. I really enjoyed its light hearted tone – but I hope you got / get it fixed… xxx

    • Thanks Pooky. My iPad is a lifeline for me. It’s becoming harder and harder for me to do much at all, so the iPad is my main means of communication on a daily basis. Family and friends are wonderful to me but everyone has a busy life and can’t come play with me all the time. :) Because of my eyesight the phone is a bit of a challenge, but I’m so pleased to have it.
      One thing this has taught me is that I have been spending far too much time on facebook, so the upside is I’m reading more again. When I’m back in the iPad saddle I’m going to try to be more disciplined with my usage.
      Tricia xx

      • We’ve not had proper broadband at home for weeks and weeks and it’s helped me realise the same thing. I love the online world, I have many friends, like you, who I’ve never met and I feel a deeper attachment to than other people who I see frequently. However, there is a line to be drawn and one must spend some time in the real world!

        Have you read The Shock of the Fall? I’ve just downloaded but not read it yet – it’s about an adolescent boy’s descent into psychosis or something along those lines, written by an adolescent psychiatrist and it’s just won the Costa prize – not sure if it might be of interest to you but I can’t wait to read it. I’ve heard very good things.

  10. aloha Tricia. i understand this work to a T. i too use my iPad in many ways. for many things. along with a desktop (an iMac). however. i did not understand about updates. and i’m locked into an older OS (which i hope to remedy at some point). ah. technology. sheesh with it. sheesh without it. and larger letters on you. (i have the most basic phone available—i still play with it tho. sheesh again). aloha. and good technology solutions on you.

    • Aloha Rick. Well I’m up and running on the iPad again. It took almost 5 hours but they retrieved all my data. I’ve a new iPad and a new iMac computer. My nephew will set up the computer properly tomorrow. So far all I know about it is it’s very pretty. :) the iPad works wonderfully.
      Part of my problem was that I was not doing the updates. But I stopped doing them because I’d sometimes have a problem after updating. But if I don’t do them I end up with bigger problems. Sheesh is right.
      A blogging friend, Gabe was showing a copy of your book the other day. I’ll check her blog again and figure how to purchase it.
      Mahalo for you good wishes.
      Aloha
      Tricia

      • ha. yes. those updates. i’m trying to stay on top of them harder and harder now. yes, i agree they do bring their own problems. but there are much bigger problems as you say, when i dont update.

        about a week (or more ago) i had the chance to get help (i thought) on my iPad updating. i got a call 3 days later saying i had to do my own picture gallery saving or the iPad would sync to the store computer. oh bother. couldnt you have told me that when i was there? (it’s a 3-4 hour walk). i didnt say that to them of course i just went and got the iPad, thinking i’d have to take it back then go get it again when it was dealt with. and. i’d lose a lot of stuff. but i’d have the pictures.

        ha ha ha on them. (i wont say that to them either). when i started the process (which they had to tell me how to do because i didnt know it could be done the way they said i should do it), i saw oh, wow, the update could be done this way too. and there were the steps. so i did it. now i’m relearning of course. and i need to let them know. and hopefully get my money back as i’d paid them in advance. it’ll be okay. and. as i said. i’ll try to stay on top of the updates better from now on.

        so yeah, yay on getting your computer and iPad reset up or set up. and off we go. again. i’m sure this will all have to be done again. soon. but maybe i can play until then. at least after i get beyond the relearning part. fun on.

        oh. the book is on blurb. it’s on my side bar too. no worries if it is too costly. i get that. that’s how it works with the on-demand printing. i like the book a lot and i too go back and read through it. i’m working toward another. altho it’s been on haitus and now i have more ideas for more. some may actually make it to a publisher (there is interest on that, but it may take a while yet). that i’d like a lot. we’ll see on that too.

        keep on the word path. it’s way fun. and well being on you. aloha. rick

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 167 other followers

