Walking to the Moon


Walking to the Moon
 
Is the name of the book
As I begin to read I love the words,
They are sumptuous and red green
But I can’t find the story
I think I have it but it keeps
Walking in another direction
Then suddenly it is inside me
Where my story is clamouring
 
I try to focus on Walking to the Moon
But I keep slipping onto the paths I have not taken
Stumbling over the words I left unsaid
Not even halfway into the book
And the clamouring
Of years of words not spoken
Force my fingers to fly over they keys
Searching for the soft sea blue
Of a story that longs to be told
 
Tricia 2009 (Inspired by the book Walking to the Moon by Kate Cole-Adams)
 
 

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on April 27, 2012, in Poems and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Tricia,

    This is simply beautiful – I love the lines

    Searching for the soft sea blue
    Of a story that longs to be told.

    Beautiful

    Love and hugs

    Christine xx

  2. I am always so glad to see you name in my inbox, Tricia. What beautiful lines. Until I got to the very end I wondered if perhaps you were breaking ground on your own book of poetry. I hope that each and every one you have purchased is somehow kept safe and in good time will be published. You share your vulnerable heart, and it reveals such honesty. I repeat…I’m so glad you shared today. Debra

  3. Forgive me, Tricia…it’s late at night. Everyone you purchased? I don’t know where that came from. Every one you “produced”—maybe that was Freudian…I was thinking of a book of poetry I hope you put together some day…and I would purchase. D

  4. Tricia, I like your writing. It is bed time now but I promise to catch up on more as soon as I can 🙂

    • Thanks so much for your comment. I’m sorry to have taken so long to reply but have been unwell. I’m hoping to get back to my writing again soon.
      Thanks for visiting
      Tricia

Leave a comment