Valentine


Valentine

Valentines Day
Was never on their radar
Love was for life
Not once a year
She knew she would never
Have what once was
Life and time
Changed and moved
And she would never again
Be the same
But the knowing could not stop
The longing
To be held once more
In the arms of the long dead
To see again the sparkle
In the eyes of love
To touch the cheek
With its hint of stubble
And the laughter
Oh how she missed their playtimes
She wondered when
If ever
The knowing would become
Acceptance

Tricia 14/02/2012

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on February 14, 2012, in Poems and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Tricia,

    I feel this to be a very personal poem, but it is also universal.

    I feel for you today.

    Love and hugs

    Christine xxxxxx

  2. My dear Christine, thank you so much.
    Love
    Tricia

  3. I didn’t see this poem earlier today or I would have stopped and responded Tricia. Your poems always express your feelings so exquisitely! I think I was actually quite young when it first crossed my mind that V-Day had to be very hard for those who have lost their loves…and your poem reminds the reader of just how much it hurts to be alone. I started to comment on hoping the 15th is softer, then remembered we really are on opposite sides of the world and time zones, aren’t we! :-) Let’s just say that I always hope the salve of time softens the hardest blows! Hugs from California, Debra

    • Debra thanks for the hugs. I’ve been caught up in the undertow of grief a bit lately, but feel I’m back on the sand now, albeit still catching my breath. For me grief really does come and go like waves, and I never kow when one of the big buggers is going to knock me over.

      I’m getting my giggle back again.
      Hugs right back at you
      Tricia

  4. I don’t think the grief ever really goes away, Tricia. They always say time heals, but I am not so sure of that. We endure in spite of the pain and sometimes, since time flows past so very quickly, we forget momentarily and get on with our lives and even, sometimes, celebrate the fact that we can still enjoy a fiery sunrise or a beautiful rose. But the truth is that forever love is forever even when it is no longer present in those central to your life who are no longer there. You are valued in this space, so please take care of yourself. You are a good poet, and poetry is at the heart of who poets are.

    • Dear Thomas,
      To read the words of someone who understands is like being wrapped in a warm blanket, and yet! I’m sad that you understand because in your understanding I feel the reverberation your own lived loss.
      Thank you for your words
      Tricia

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers

