Hope


HOPE
 
Hope is fledgling,
a sparse feathered thing.
It trembles
in the chill of an early morning breeze,
hungers for earthy morsels.
Not yet ready to leave the nest
it cries out for sustenance,
tiny beak open in anticipation of
it knows not what.
 
Tricia
 

About triciabertram

I have written all my life. Writing helps me to make sense of a world I often don’t understand. Poetry is my supreme solace, closely followed by literature and music. When my son ended his life in 1999 I embarked on the most difficult journey of my life, my grief journey. To survive in this unknown, harsh landscape I had to write. It was for me, the only way I could even begin to move forward. Then in 2009 my darling husband died suddenly and so my journey continues. I write about other issues but because of my life experience, grief and death are continuing themes in my writing life. In our culture I believe there is a fear of death, an inability to accept the inevitability of our mortality, and this creates enormous difficulties for the bereaved and those around them. I have begun this blog in the hope I will create a small ripple in the pond of fear that is currently drowning the reality of death and grief. I will continue to skim the stones of my truth, watch them bounce, and see how many ripples I can make.

Posted on January 29, 2012, in Poems and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Wonderful image continuing on the bird theme.

  2. But it is always there if we are open to it!

    I love this morsel of hope Tricia; that is all it takes to help us through.

    Christine xx

  3. This small imagistic poem made me smile,.

  4. I also believe, Tricia, that we have to nurture and “feed” fledgling hope. Having a little glimpse of your heartache I find it really lovely to read this poem and hear your heart stirring towards hope…even if it is a tiny bird. Have you published your poetry? It is worthy and I hope someday you will! Debra

    • Thanks Debra. I have had some poems published, but decided to go with the blog as a means of publishing the majority of my work. I have chronic health issues that deplete my energy, so blogging is the most energy efficient option for me.
      I wrote this poem a while ago. Hope has left the nest and now forages for food in the wild world.
      Warm wishes
      Tricia

  5. “…tiny beak open in anticipation of it knows not what.”

    Natural conditioning or absolute trust…I take trust as it gives me hope. Thank you Tricia. Lovely, Eric

  6. A lot of years ago a beautiful fairy lit a torch of hope for me.
    She promised me it would never be extinguished.
    She has been true to her word!!

    David

  7. Lovely words, Tricia.
    Life is full of those moments!
    (It must be bird week :))

    angie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 169 other followers

